How Am I Doin’? Not So Good

I don’t like Ed Koch anymore. This post on Real Clear Politics shows why. In addition to supporting and voting for Bush, read this:

“When he ran for reelection, he [Jimmy Carter] asked me to campaign for him in 1980 – I was by then Mayor of New York City — and I said that I would vote for him, but not campaign for him because he was then engaging in hostile acts towards Israel. I was popular with the Jewish community and when I would not campaign for him unless he changed his position, he called me to his hotel in New York when attending a fundraiser and said, “You have done me more damage than any man in America.” I felt proud then, and even more today, since we now know what a miserable president he was then and the miserable human being he is now as he prepares to meet with Hamas.”

People tend to grow more conservative as they get older and Ed Koch is no exception. But, c’mon, Ed, they’ve had nothing but war for over 40 years in Israel. It’s not time to try something a little different? Mix it up a little?

This is the same logic that has it that a U.S. president shouldn’t meet with the leaders of Iran or North Korea for direct talks because it might legitimize them. But you know what? They’re already legitimate, whether we like it or not, because they run their governments. This kind of thinking demonstrates a level of stupidity that is matched only by the fact that U.S. backed democratic elections put Hamas in power in first place.

W. really has done a lot for Israel, hasn’t he?

Ed Koch, I’m sorry to say, has grown into an old fool.

Leave a Reply

