The Brown Bag Campaign for Obama

Starting today, to coincide with Obama’s official designation as the Democratic nominee for President, I am announcing the Brown Bag Campaign for Obama.

What does this mean?

It means that instead of buying lunch, I’m going to make it at home and give the money I save to the Obama/Biden campaign; instead of buying coffee at Starbucks, I’m going to make a cup at home and give the money I save to the Obama/Biden campaign; instead of eating out for the next two months, I’m going to eat at home and give the money I save to the Obama/Biden campaign.

I am calling on all supporters of this blog and Obama/Biden to do the same.

This is the least sacrifice we can make to help salvage America from the reckless incompetence of the Bush/McCain GOP.

Can’t afford it? You’re already brown bagging it? Then don’t give. Volunteer. Step up and go to a meeting. Talk to people. Lend your voice to the chorus. The idea behind Obama’s campaign is that we are all in this together. But everyone must do their part. America is so screwed up that we are all going need to roll up our sleeves and get to work to fix it. There is no free ride for anyone.

So…if you believe in America and love this country, then join me in the Brown Bag Campaign. If you email me, I will post your donation total on this blog and let everyone know how much money we have raised.

Remember, there are just two months left until Election Day, and peanut butter and jelly is delicious.

Update: Here are my results.

5 Responses to The Brown Bag Campaign for Obama

  1. Lynne Seymour says:

    I’m a first-wave baby boomer, born in 1946. I have been brown bagging my lunch and making my coffee at home for the past 40 years. But, I like Obama so much that I am going to find another way to save a little each week so I can make a contribution.

  2. nahnopenotquite says:

    Lynne – I love you!

  3. vela says:

    Lynne – Me, too. This is a great idea.

  4. missify says:

    This is great. Being proactive sure beats complaining 🙂

Leave a Reply

