Palin on the Supreme Court

Okay, I had to stop this one before she uttered her first word. That, ladies and gentlemen, is a new record for my cringe reflex during a Sarah Palin video. I stopped the video nine (9) seconds in.

She clearly doesn’t have an answer and looks terrified. Watch:

Just for reference, here is how Biden answered the same question according to the New York Times (I’ll post the video when I get chance):

Ms. Couric also spoke with Mr. Biden and asked him the same questions. Asked what Supreme Court decisions he disagreed with, Mr. Biden cited its decision not to uphold the Violence Against Women Act, which he wrote.

In explaining why he thought Roe v. Wade was a good decision, he said, “Because I think it’s as close to a consensus that can exist in a society as heterogeneous as ours.”

He also said he believed in an inherent right to privacy. “I think the liberty clause of the 14th Amendment is — offers a right to privacy,” he said. “Now that’s one of the big debates that I have with my conservative scholar friends, that they say, you know, unless a right is enumerated, unless it’s actually, unless it uses the word ‘privacy’ in the Constitution, then no such constitutional right exists. Well, I think people have an inherent right.”

Lastly, I thought about this myself. Immediately, I came up with the decision in favor of eminent domain. I don’t know the name of the case, but it was a dispute based in Connecticut and the court ruled in favor of taking away private property for private development. Five seconds after that I came up with – again, I don’t know the name – the one that denied a woman the right to sue for unequal pay discrimination essentially after the discrimination occurred.

Any such answer from Palin would have been acceptable. Hell, I would even have accepted an answer referencing court cases she agreed with. How about guns in DC?

The bottom line? She can’t name a single one (though apparently she knows about and disagrees with a decision related to the Exxon Valdez accident). Not Dred Scott, not Brown vs. the Board of Ed, nothing.

Oh, and one more thing…

How many Supreme Court justices do you think she can name? I’m guessing four. And maybe Ginsburg because she’s the only woman.

Leave a Reply

