Guilt-by-Association Absurdity

Gail Collins, brilliant as usual:

Before we go any further, I have a confession to make. When I was a college student, I believe I attended a party with Bernardine Dohrn. This was pre-Weather, when Dohrn was a leader of the Students for a Democratic Society, better known as S.D.S. Some of my friends wanted to meet her because they were interested in establishing an S.D.S. chapter at our campus. I was opposed, under the presumption that S.D.S. meant Students for Decent Styles, a group that had been active in fighting spaghetti-strap dresses at my high school.

Still, under the new rules, I believe I may now be held partly responsible for all of Dohrn’s misdeeds, including aggravated battery, bail jumping, the Days of Rage and unreadable political tracts.

McCain’s favorite supporter, Senator Joseph Lieberman, recently called the Obama-Ayers connection “fair game.” This reminded me that Lieberman once came to a party at my house. It was years ago, when he was still a Connecticut state senator, and we have already established that state senators will go to anything. Still, I can’t help but feel that I am not only a potential victim of the new guilt-by-association standard, I am also somewhat complicit in establishing it.

In a related story, Obama calls McCain out in an interview with Charlie Gibson:

“I am surprised that, you know, we’ve been seeing some pretty over-the-top attacks coming out of the McCain campaign over the last several days, that he wasn’t willing to say it to my face. But I guess we’ve got one last debate. So presumably, if he ends up feeling that he needs to, he will raise it during the debate.”

Looks like this nonsense is not going away.

2 Responses to Guilt-by-Association Absurdity

  1. helen says:

    barack HUSSEIN obama is involved w/ACORN–that’s a conflict of interest–he is involved with radicals like rev wright for 20 years -who is unamerican,hates whites and jews –tell me who your friends are i will tell you who you sre –tell the truth –your jewisg readers have a right to know –going to his church for 20 yrs and listening to hatred against jews and whites has left their maerks—is this the kind of jewish hater we want in the white house –I DO NOT THINK SO!!!!!!!

  2. Jane says:

    I have to wonder who your friends are, Helen. You seem incapable of looking at a black (half white) man and seeing anything other than his race and believing that every black person hates whites. Your views embody the worst prejudices that this country has to offer.

Leave a Reply

